From the Richmond Whig, 4/25/1865

THE GALLEGO MILLS. We take from the columns of this paper, published before the war, a description of the last erected portion of the Gallego mills, which will be read with additional interest, now that blackened walls are all that remain of the once magnificent fabric. The building described, was one of three, composing together the Gallego mills, the flour turned out by which was known over the whole world, and commanded in Rio and Australia a dollar a barrel more than any other American brand. We quote:

Richmond can boast of having within its limits the largest flouring mill in the world. The erection of the mill was regularly commenced some time in the year 1854. The superstructure rests upon a solid foundation of granite, the base of which is seventeen and a half feet thick. The width tapers to a thickness of six feet at the top course of granite. The average thickness of the brick walls, forming the first four stories above canal street, is three feet two inches. The great mill is twelve stories in height, fronts ninety-six feet on Canal street, and is one hundred and sixty-five feet deep. The height of the front wall is one hundred and twenty-one feet to the top course of bricks. Including the observatory the total height is one hundred and thirty-five feet. The rear wall, embracing a part of the granite foundation, is one hundred and forty-seven feet high. Each floor contains 155,000 square feet or rather more than three and a half acres. Altogether, the available space within the walls of this building is about 200,000 square feet. We have no positive information as to the cost of this immense structure, but presume that the sum will not fall short of $130,000.